highlandhousegiftsdecor

Decorating Your Home for Lilac Time in Lombard, IL

In Holiday Decorating, Uncategorized on May 10, 2010 at 6:44 am

Lilac Time is a special time in Lombard, Illinois. A longtime tradition, Lilac Time takes place each May and celebrates the Village of Lombard which is famous for its numerous lilacs. I like to observe Lilac Time by decorating the interior and exterior of my home with lilac flowers. Here in the Midwest, Mother Nature is still temperamental and inconsistent this time of year which makes it challenging to start planting and potting flowers. So to tame my Spring Fever, I like to incorporate faux lilac flowers outside. I dig my hanging baskets and some of my large flower pots out of storage and fill them with lilacs. Once the lilac bushes start to bloom, the faux flowers start to look genuine. I also add wreaths adorned with lilac flowers to my back and front doors. This allows me to add some color to the exterior of my home and emerging landscape.

On the inside of my home, I like to include a floral lilac centerpiece in my dinning room and decorate the place settings at the table with lilac placemats and complementary floral-print cloth napkins. Other rooms like the kitchen, guest room and powder rooms get accessorized for this special time of year with other lilac effects like lilac printed plates, framed lilac photos and postcards, lilac colored votive holders and lilac smelling candles. I also like to include fresh-cut lilacs throughout my home as well. This tradition of decorating my home this time of year is a reminder to me and my family that spring is in the air!

For other decorating ideas and gift ideas, including lilac merchandise, visit Highland House Gifts & Décor at: http://www.HighlandHouseGifts.com. Highland House Gifts & Décor is an online boutique that specializes in unique finds and handcrafted items. We offer unique and distinctive gifts and home décor including one-of-a-kind floral arrangements, holiday furnishings, antiques, vintage and handmade jewelry, and custom artwork.

Follow us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Highland-House-Gifts-Decor/150846794997

Amber Hogan
Highland House Gifts & Décor
http://www.highlandhousegifts.com

Leave a Reply

